The  Plan Overview contains the strategic framework for executing  goals and objectives. This should include multiple tiers of projects that have been linked and nested to explain how a team sees the execution of their strategy occurring. 

Once the participants of a plan have created their Plan, it should be reviewed on a regular cadence to understand the risk, progress and status that make up the Plan. 

During these reviews, Teams can make Start, Stop, & Modify decisions about the priority level of Projects on the Plan based on changes to the environment. Team Leaders are then able to edit the team plan to reflect decisions made in these reviews.

There are three ways to create a Plan Overview:

  1. Create new Projects on blank tiles on the Plan Overview
  2. Reposition Projects on the Plan or from the Unlinked List via Drag & Drop 
  3. Unlink Projects from the Plan 

Based on the edits made to the Plan Overview, new Project Linkages will be created. There are three ways that Projects can be dropped into particular positions on a Plan Overview. These procedures are explained in detail below.

To begin editing a Plan Overview, Plan Owners need to access the plan in Edit mode.

1: Creating new Projects in blank tiles on the Plan Overview
Clicking on a blank tile 'Create Objective Project' will require the entry of the project title and owner. Upon successive creation of projects are other tiers of your plan (in the example below, Objectives, Strategies, and Initiatives are the multiple tiers) they are automatically linked to Projects that are positioned in higher-order and lower-order tiers of the Plan. These linkages indicate dependent relationships between Projects within the hierarchical layers in a Plan.

For example, linkages on the plan below are created by first creating a new Objective, then a new Strategy and finally a new Initiative.

TWO: Reposition Existing and Unlinked Projects on the Plan Overview Via Drag and Drop

Plan Owners can select Project tiles from within the Plan itself or the Unlinked list, drag them on top of open positions, as indicated by the blue dotted outlines, and drop them into those positions.
The blue dotted line will become solid to indicate that the Project will now be positioned in that location.

For Projects that do not have linked Projects on lower-order layers within the Plan , existing or Unlinked Projects can be dragged on top of the Project tile in order to position the Project as a dependent on a lower layer:

An Unlinked Project is dragged on top of another Project Tile and a solid blue line appears around that Project Tile. 

The Unlinked Project is dropped onto the Project titled "Bring 3 new products to market in..." and becomes a lower-level, dependent Project. 

Plan Owners can also reposition Projects by dragging and dropping Project tiles in between other Projects on the Plan. There is a bold blue line that indicates the position that the Project will be placed in and indicates the new linkages that will be created. 

Three: Unlink Projects From the Plan Overview 

Unlinking Projects from the Plan Overview allows Owners to deprioritize Projects that are not critical to the strategic direction of the Team. After Unlinking Projects, new Projects can be linked in open positions. 

There are two ways Owners can Unlink Projects from the Plan Overview:

Select the Action Icon in the top right corner of the Project tile and choose to Unlink the Project. This action of Unlinking will place the Project and all of the it’s child Projects in the Unlinked list on the right-hand side of the Page.

Plan Owners can also drag a Project tile into the Unlinked list in order to remove it from the Plan.

Note:

Project Owners have the ability to delete, archive and alter the Teams that their Projects support. These Projects will be removed from your Plan Overview and will cause changes to your plan. Archived and Unlinked Projects can be added back into the Plan Overview, but deleted Projects cannot. 

Did this answer your question?